Broad Street Run: Pre-Race

Yesterday we ran our first “big” race…and I’m proud to say that I finished!  However before we get into the actual race (coming in Wednesday’s post) let me give you a run-down of everything pre-race.

First off I am so proud to say that not only did we decide we wanted to run in the 2010 Broad Street Run, but we mapped out our training schedule and stuck to the schedule.  There were definitely times during the last couple of months where I wanted to just stay at home and skip a run, but now I am so glad that I didn’t!

The morning of the race we got up at 5:15am (that’s more than an hour before I normally get up, so that was early!) so that we could be up to the starting line on time.  And boy am I glad that we got there early.  I think it really helped make the whole experience to be there as the runners began streaming in to the warm-up area.  Arriving early also gave us the chance to scope out the runners.  Including…

-The runner in the neon green fan suit (seriously, you have to check out the link to follow appreciate what this guy was wearing)

-The runners in super hero costumes

-Runners who look like they have not bought new running clothes since I started kindergarten in the late ’80’s

And best of all it gave me the opportunity to be the first person to use a port-a-potty.  Now I don’t know if you’ve ever had the opportunity to use a port-a-potty at a race, but let me tell you…there is NOTHING pleasant about the experience.  But today I have to admit that I did feel a little better when I walked in my chosen port-a-potty and discovered the rolls of toilet paper had not even been unopened.  So while I still do not enjoy this experience, I have to admit that if you have to use one, this is the way to go!

Pre-Race

Leave a Reply

