My Bake Sale Contribution

Yesterday was an overall recap of the Bake Sale but today I wanted to share with you the item that I made for the sale.  A couple of months ago I purchased several purse cookie cuttters and have been waiting for the right time to try them out…and this seemed like the perfect opportunity!  I have also been motivated lately to experiment with making my own fondant, so this seemed like a great time to try it again.

The first step was to bake the cookies.  I used a basic sugar cookie recipe and cut out the purse shapes before baking the cookies.  After the cookies had cooled completely I began the decorating process.

I made the frosting but I have found that it helps to wait to frost each cookie until I am ready to put the fondant on the cookie.  So before frosting the cookies I made and colored the fondant and cut out my circles.

To make the fondant, I microwaved 4 cups of marshmallows and 2 tablespoons of water for about a minute until the marshmallows were all puffy.  I then stirred the marshmallows until they were smooth and then began to slowly add 4 cups of powdered sugar.  I stirred until the mixture became too difficult to stir and then transfered the mixture to a counter space dusted with powdered sugar.  Finally, I kneaded the mixture until it was no longer sticky, needing to add some powdered sugar to reach the smooth, non-sticky consistency. I divided up the fondant mixture so that I could make several different colors.

Before I show you the finished product I have to admit that I did not come up with these designs on my own.  I am a Thirty-One Gifts consultant and so I designed the cookies to look like two of the bags that I sell.  I have to say they look pretty close!

1 Comment »

  1. Steph Joseph Said:

    Super cool! Can’t wait to try your fondant!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

