One week to go

Our first race is just one week away and I think there are a lot of feelings that go along with our final preparations.  This past week of training was difficult as Sara (sore knee), Kim (sore ankle) and I (sick) have all had to skip a run.  Even though in the big picture we’re still on track for our remaining races this year it was discouraging to have to skip a run when we have been so dedicated to our training schedule the last couple of months.  I think the key will be whether we are able to resume training this week…especially with our race just a week away.

I know that for me as this race approaches I am feeling pride, apprehension and excitement.  I am so proud of myself and the the rest of the girls for sticking to this challenge for nearly three months already.  They say that it takes 30 days for something to become a habit and I think I can say that we have made running a habit…and that is something I am really proud of.  I am also apprehensive about the race since we will be doing something we’ve never done before.  Even though I am confident we will be able to run the three miles I worry about the details of race day…will I hydrate properly?  Will I wear the right gear?  Will I start off too fast setting a difficult to maintain pace?  Yet at the same time, I am very excited about the race.  When we cross that finish line we’ll be able to say that we have run in a 5K and that’s pretty exciting.

By next Sunday evening you should see a post on here celebrating our first accomplishment…running a 5K!

Leave a Reply

