Late 20’s…yikes!

Yesterday I turned 27 and that was a bit of a reality check for me.  I realized I can no longer say I am in my mid-20’s, I am now officially in my late 20’s…yikes!  But then today as I was running I realized that while I am now technically in my late 20’s this is the healthiest I have ever been.  And the best part is that I’m not healthy because I’m on the latest diet but because I have made being healthy my lifestyle.  As I ran down the path today I saw babies in strollers, preschoolers on bikes, teenagers rollerblading, college athletes training, my peers working out and much older adults staying active.   I saw people who have made being active a part of their lifestyle and that was so encouraging to me.  I hope that I can continue to make this healthy lifestyle a priority and if others are motivated to do the same along the way, then even better!

I also learned something about myself while I was running today…I am really competitive and sometimes that’s okay.  Those of you that know me are probably laughing right now because you’ve known for a long time that I’m competitive (heck, it’s been my New Year’s resolution in years past to be less competitive).  But today for the first time the competitiveness was to my advantage.  With the springlike weather we’ve been having runners and walkers have been out in full force.  That means a lot of people with whom I can mentally challenge myself.  I would spot a runner up ahead and challenge myself to pass them by the time my current song was over.  And then I would spot the next runner and try to pass them before I reached the next mile marker.  Continually challenging myself made today’s run one of the best so far in training.

Added bonus…it’s A LOT easier to get out of the car and start running when you see this…

Leave a Reply

