Pushing Forward

“Top results are reached only through pain.  But eventually you like this pain. You’ll find the more difficulties you have on the way, the more you will enjoy your success.”
– Juha “the Curel Vaatainen

Last week was a difficult week of training for me.  Between our two blizzards here in Philadelphia and a quick weekend trip home to California I found it difficult to stay on the training schedule.  BUT, this is a new week which means I get a fresh start and there are a couple of things motivating me this week to continue training for these races.

The first is the encouragement of girls.  When I get a text from Cecily about reaching new milestones, or have a conversation with Sara about continuing with training even when it’s been difficult I am reminded that we can do this together.  There will be days and weeks when I want to take a break but we’re in this journey together and I am confident that we will continue to keep pushing each other to reach our goals.  I can not imagine what it would be like to take on a challenge of this many races in a year and do it all on my own.

The second is knowing that pushing through the difficult times will get me to the goal.  When we are crossing the finish line of our first race the difficult days of training will be behind us and replaced with such a sense of accomplishment.  I’m excited to cross the finish line and that excitement is what will propel me through the days of training this week.

1 Comment »

  1. Upon reaching the finish line, you will feel such a sense of accomplishment and know all your hard work has paid off! Keep up the great work!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

